Reviews

8.5
Review score

Score Breakdown

Cleanliness
8.6
Comfort
8.3
Property location
9.0
Facilities
8.5
Staff
8.8
Value
8.2

Reviews

    Rebecca
    gb

    Review score

    9.6
    12 April 2018

    A beautiful hotel for a stay in bagan

    Slightly damp/drain smell in bathroom No local shop
    Temple in the back garden, beautiful garden and big pool! Helpful staff organised bikes, buses and balloon ride A couple of more local restaurants next door When we hadn’t gone to breakfast because we thought it was over they called us to check if we wanted it!! (Amazing service)
    Tauana
    cn

    Review score

    8.8
    10 April 2018

    Very good location. They offer e-bike (8000 per day), which was very convenient.

    The pool area is very beautiful and absolutely necessary after a busy morning temple hopping. Breakfast ok. The location is probably the best part of this hotel, you can easily reach all the main attractions by e-bike. They do offer e-bikes for 8.000kyats a day.
    AltheaChan
    hk

    Review score

    7.9
    8 April 2018

    An acceptable resort hotel

    The water for shower is not quite strong.
    It is a resort hotel, so higher price on food and service are expected. The staff are helpful and it is convenient to go to the old city of Bagan from the hotel. There are also motorbikes for hotel guests to lend free of charge.
    Elizabeth
    hk

    Review score

    8.8
    8 April 2018

    Very pleasant oasis in Myanmar. Could happily stay there for an extensive stay.

    ATMs didn't accept debit only visa cards. Fair amount of noise at night.
    Location around pool excellent. General ambiance and peacefulness was very high (low season). Good breakfast choices in pleasant outside setting. Spa OK.
    naomi
    au

    Review score

    8.8
    1 April 2018
    Unfortunately the room was a little tired and could do with a freshen up. Bathroom had been recently renovated and was lovely.
    The hotel breakfast, pool, staff, foot massage at the spa and ambience was well above expectation.
    Stef
    ca

    Review score

    5.0
    31 March 2018

    Not what we hoped for

    • We originally booked a standard room, but after checking in we saw that our door didn’t fully shut, and left a gaping hole for mosquitos to enter during the night (there was no mosquito net for the bed). So we moved to a deluxe room, which is basically the same as a standard room but has a door that fully closes - we ourselves paid the extra 25 USD for this basic necessity (this hotel was the worst value for money we spent here in Asia so far) • Weak air conditioning - we were very hot during the night • We rented ebikes to go around town and on the two days we used them we were charged different fees depending on who was at the front desk (8000 ky VS 12000 ky for a full day - we felt a bit scammed by this). We were also given different time requirements on when we had to return the bikes, which caused a lot of confusion and some extra charges. On one day we were given a “fully charged bike” just to have it run out of battery after 45 minutes. It took us almost an hour to get back to the hotel since we pushed the bike and we weren’t given additional time to compensate for this loss nor an apology from the staff. • Only the most expensive rooms have closed separate showers, otherwise with all of the other rooms you seem to have to live with a flooded bathroom after you take your first shower. We think this is acceptable for other hotels, but not what you expect from a 4-star. • Unfortunately we believe that this hotel offers poor value for money. From lesser-starred hotels in Myanmar we received better hospitality and comfort compared to Umbra.
    • Perfect location • Clean bedroom • Some of the staff are really sweet and helpful! Thank you so much!
    Masai
    my

    Review score

    8.3
    31 March 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Graeme
    gb

    Review score

    6.7
    28 March 2018

    Very misled by booking.com, thanks to the staff we resolved our bedroom issue

    This is definitely NOT a 4* hotel, nor do they say that they are at reception. The standard room we booked was barely 2* and we had to upgrade. It had no wardrobe, safe, headboards, bedside light... The deluxe was nearly twice as big but still 3*. Those opting for the grand deluxe probably see a 4* spec, with half of them enjoying the special view of the nearby stupa. If you enjoy having your breakfast adjacent to a car park with tour buses’ engines emitting fumes, then you will enjoy the average breakfast served on the terrace. The reception area is extremely hot and it was unbearable waiting for transport, including early evening. There is no area with air conditioning or ceiling fans, other than bedrooms, for guests. WiFi was poor. It dropped out. It stopped working every we stopped using it for a few minutes and we had to log in again, using the codes printed on tiny pieces of paper, which were easy to lose and only lasted 2 days.
    The location was good for seeing all that Bagan has to offer. The reception staff were efficient and helpful. All other staff were most welcoming, polite and friendly The 20 ? metre pool was delightful, set amid well manicured grounds. We enjoyed the cultural evening and the evening menu was delicious.
    Dawid
    pl

    Review score

    7.1
    27 March 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Thu Ho
    vn

    Review score

    6.7
    22 March 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Martin Sobotka
    cz

    Review score

    6.7
    20 March 2018
    Stadard room get only 2* rating
    Breakfasr, pool
    Andriana
    gb

    Review score

    9.2
    20 March 2018
    The rate on currency exchange - much more expensive than other hotels in the country.
    Great hotel, swimming pool is good, quiet rooms. Breakfast was satisfying!
    J R Bristow
    gb

    Review score

    9.6
    18 March 2018

    Lovely hotel

    Nothing .
    Location was excellent for mandalay hill and palace. They organised an excellent driver for a day trip to Innwa, ubien bridge, etc. Free cocktails and lovely view from breakfast room and bar. Staff all very friendly and helpful.
    Lars
    dk

    Review score

    9.6
    8 March 2018

    Great hotel in great location.

    No kettle for boiling water.
    Location. Staff.
    Mansur
    ru

    Review score

    9.2
    7 March 2018

    You can spend a good week in Bagan in this hotel, engoying the pool and visiting pagodas

    Some rooms need refurbishment, poor internet
    Evening traditional dance programs, good breakfast, good location, own pagoda, good facilities overall
    Phetcharaphun
    th

    Review score

    9.2
    6 March 2018

    Nice hotel, nice staffs.

    -
    I really appriciate this hotel. Staffs were so friendly, enthusiasm. The room was good. The location was excellent, not far from market and near old Bagan zone which is the great thing.
    OLIVIA
    gb

    Review score

    10
    4 March 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    lars
    ch

    Review score

    7.9
    3 March 2018

    Lovely hotel staff,beautiful garden area,just a bike ride away from all the pagodas

    Wifi should work faster.
    Very nice and helpful staff (due to the wifi being very slow,they booked for us the airplane tickets,and it was even cheaper this way then online) and beautiful garden and pool area (with view to a old pagoda in the back).Breakfast was very good with a large variety.We could make check-in at 9am,that was so so nice and welcoming,perfect after a long journey. Dinner at the hotel with different shows every day. Value for money was perfect at Umbra Hotel.
    de

    Review score

    9.6
    26 February 2018

    Highly recommended.

    Water pressure in my room was ok-ish, I had to use the rainshower head to get decent water pressure for the shower.
    Location is great because it is very close to the temples. E-Bike rental available and reliable. Breakfast options were good (they listed the calories per dish as well). Pool is great and view from Pool to a Pagoda. Cute decoration details in the garden and property. Happy hours for drinks at the pool between 4pm and 6pm.
    Annabel
    gb

    Review score

    9.6
    25 February 2018

    Wonderful

    Wi-Fi was very bad, almost non existent in the bedroom
Loading reviews